The Blah Day!

9/5/2013

The day started off pretty normally, except for that I forgot breakfast and also lunch. Now you see where my office is does not afford me the option of going out and eating, and I forgot to at least carry some fruits or yogurt or something. Thankfully my colleagues have no issues with sharing their food so I did not go hungry. But something even worse happened. Our office was out of coffee, and I had severe caffeine deficiency issues, in other words, I was sleepy a lot! Just 10 minutes ago, I read this – http://www.boredpanda.com/first-world-problems-twitter/ – and writing this, I feel like one of them. Sheesh! I grew up in India, I know bigger problems, ok? 😛

After work though it was one of those days where I just did not want to do anything (cue in the Lazy Song by Bruno Mars). I came watched lots of videos, re-watched a bunch of Starkid Videos, ate a Subway Salad (Go Paleo!!) and pretty much slept! I could have done this yesterday as well but I really did not want to!

Did you know that around Mahavir Jayanti (birth anniversary of Lord Mahavir, the propagator of Jainism), there is a week long fast for Jains, which is practiced in 3 different ways, the most extreme of which is no food at all for 8 days, only boiled water that can be drank only when the sun is up. So, why I got to know all the details this year is because my supervisor is a Jain lady who has not had anything but water since last Sunday evening – that’s  4 whole days! This is kudos to her determination to go through with this in spite of the fact that this has tired her out.

With that and lots of love!

Leave a comment